ALA Announces 2010 Award Winners

Michael L Printz Award for excellence in young adult literature:

2010 Winner(s)

  Going Bovine
by Libba Bray
Sixteen year old slacker, Cameron, sets off on a madcap road trip along with a punk angel, a dwarf sidekick, a yard gnome and a mad scientist, to save the world and perhaps his own life. This wildly imaginative modern day take on Don Quixote is complex, hilarious and stunning. The hero’s journey will never be the same after “Going Bovine.”

2010 Honor(s)

  Charles and Emma: The Darwins’ Leap of Faith
by Deborah Heiligman, published by Henry Holt Books for Young Readers, an imprint of Macmillan Children’s Publishing Group
  The Monstrumologist
by Rick Yancey, published by Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers, an imprint of Simon & Schuster Children’s Publishing
by Adam Rapp and published by Candlewick Press
  Tales from the Madman Underground: An Historical Romance, 1973
by John Barnes and published by Viking Children’s Books, a division of Penguin Young Reader’s Group

John Newbery Medal for distinguished contribution to American literature for Children:

2010 Winner(s)

  When You Reach Me
by Rebecca Stead and published by Wendy Lamb Books, an imprint of Random House Children’s Books
 Twelve-year-old Miranda encounters shifting friendships, a sudden punch, a strange homeless man and mysterious notes that hint at knowledge of the future. These and other seemingly random events converge in a brilliantly constructed plot.

2010 Honor(s)

  Claudette Colvin: Twice Toward Justice
written by Phillip Hoose, and published by Melanie Kroupa Books/Farrar Straus Giroux, an imprint of Macmillan Children’s Publishing Group
  The Evolution of Calpurnia Tate
written by Jacqueline Kelly and published by Henry Holt and Company
  The Mostly True Adventures of Homer P. Figg
written by Rodman Philbrick, and published by The Blue Sky Press, and imprint of Scholastic, Inc.


Where the Mountain Meets the Moon
written by Grace Lin and published by Little, Brown and Company Books for Young Readers

Randolph Caldecott Medal awarded to the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children:

2010 Winner(s)

  The Lion & the Mouse
illustrated and written by Jerry Pinkney, published by Little, Brown and Company Books for Young Readers
 The screech of an owl, the squeak of a mouse and the roar of a lion transport readers to the Serengeti plains for this virtually wordless retelling of Aesop’s classic fable. In glowing colors, Pinkney’s textured watercolor illustrations masterfully portray the relationship between two unlikely friends.

2010 Honor(s)

  All the World
illustrated by Marla Frazee, written by Liz Garton Scanlon and published by Beach Lane Books
  Red Sings from Treetops: A Year in Colors
illustrated by Pamela Zagarenski, written by Joyce Sidman, and published by Houghton Mifflin Books for Children, Houghton Mifflin Harcourt

Visit the ALA site for more award winners

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.